a poem or two

unbound

someday
you will not wonder who I am
but will happen upon me
in the marketplace
making strangers laugh.
all this time
I’ve spent worrying
what people think
& where the mirror is –
I could have been
feeding people
or dancing.
as long as I want
to be loved
more than
to love
I live in a small
windowless box.
what matters?
not the lie
that I must be something
other.
someday my throat will swell
with singing
you won’t recognize me
but will laugh
with my laughing
both of us
unbound.

*****

like happiness

butterflies
& poems
come only
when
you stop chasing
sit down
aimless
at the edge of your life
all stillness
& awe.

Leave a Reply

